I’ve read a lot of excellent books lately, and thought I’d round them all up in one convenient post. And yes, it’s all “genre” stuff, AKA horror, science fiction, and fantasy. Eventually this year I’ll get to some non-genre stuff on my reading list (LeCarré’s ‘The Pigeon Tunnel’ is pretty high on my list), but when there’s so much awesome speculative fiction out there…what’s a girl to do?

Binti: Home, by Nnedi Okorafor. An excellent sequel to the award-winning novella ‘Binti‘. Brilliant and uniquely imaginative science fiction. Read my review.

Mongrels, by Stephen Graham Jones.  A new, fresh take on werewolves. (And one of the reasons why I currently have wolves and werewolves on the brain.) It’s a coming-of-age story, with teeth and claws. Read my review.

The Bitterwood Bible, by Angela Slatter. A collection of glorious dark fantasy tales from the masterful Angela Slatter. Read my review.

Vigil, by Angela Slatter. Slatter’s debut novel is a fantastic blend of urban fantasy and suspense/mystery. Read this now, and be ready for the sequel ‘Corpselight’ coming later this year. (Vigil is not available yet in North America, but you can get it from The Book Depository.) Read my review.

A Taste of Honey, by Kai Ashante Wilson. One of the best writers in the world of speculative fiction right now, Wilson continues to blow me away with his prose and his mind-bending stories. This story is set in the same world as ‘The Sorcerer of the Wildeeps‘, but is a stand-alone. Read my review.

The Lilies of Dawn, by Vanessa Fogg. Fogg has a real gift for telling stories that feel like fairy-tales with an edge, anchored firmly in the real world while bending myth, magic, and folklore into something that is uniquely hers. Read my review.

Cloudbound, by Fran Wilde. This sequel to ‘Updraft‘ is a gripping fantasy story full of political intrigue, resistance, friendship, and the ties that bind a society (and human beings) together. It will also knock your socks off in the last chapter. The third book in the series, ‘Horizon’, comes out later this year. Read my review.

The Obelisk Gate, by N.K. Jemisin. This is a stunning follow-up to Jemisin’s ‘The Fifth Season‘, and it’s a book that blew my mind on every level. To say that I am eagerly awaiting the final book in this trilogy would be a severe understatement. Five stars is not enough for this book (or this series). If you’re a fan of fantasy and / or science fiction you need to read Jemisin right now.

Culdesac, by Robert Repino. A novella set in the same universe as Repino’s amazing ‘Mort(e)‘, this is a blistering tale of survival, betrayal, loyalty, deception and (maybe) redemption. Can you tell a serious story full of talking cats and dogs? Short answer: Yes. Read my review.

Ink, by Sabrina Vourvoulias. This book came out a few years ago, but it is even more current now than it was then. Vourvoulias story of an America where people are tattooed with their immigrant status and rounded up for deportation is chilling, but it also contains seeds of hope. Read my review.

The Gates of Hell, by Michael Livingston. The sequel to Livingston’s ‘The Shards of Heaven’ is a dark and fast-paced alternate history/fantasy story set in ancient Rome. The third and final installment is in the works, and I can’t wait to see how everything will play out…Read my review.

