Noir_Lighting_by_erikaelk

Episode #59 of R.B. Wood’s Word Count Podcast is now live! This time, the story prompt was “newspaper, cigarette, scotch”. There are also stories by Rob Edwards (“Armchair Armageddon”), Cameron Garriepy (“Going Places”), C. Thomas Smith (“Just Right Now”), Bill Kirton (“Like Father, Like Daughter”), and Eden Baylee (“Comfortably Numb”).

It’s always fun to write for this show, and this time I was definitely trying to go a bit “noir”… As for the word “chiaroscuro”: I debated with myself if I should use as a title, or if I should go for the more to the point “Light And Shadow”, but the story itself was kind of inspired by the word so I stuck with it.

The dictionary-definition:

chi·a·ro·scu·ro, kēˌärəˈsk(y)o͝orō,kēˌarə-/ noun
  1. the treatment of light and shade in drawing and painting.
    • an effect of contrasted light and shadow created by light falling unevenly or from a particular direction on something.
